Story Killer

The idea that just one piece of advice could dramatically salvage my many bad decisions suggests I am much closer to self actualization than I am. Is self actualization still a thing? With so much self improvement jargon added to the ‘who are you’ lexicon it can be hard to pass the vocab tests on Fridays. But thats just my scarcity paradigm on display.

So let me construct an abundance model and showcase a bit of advice I wish I had listened to years ago.

Write. Everyday.

Had I listened to what Ray Bradbury wrote so many years ago I may now be a published author. I would certainly be a more developed writer.

Since making a commitment to write more often this past January I have seen my story telling strengthen. My muse does not seem so lazy since I have become more active.

So I wish I would have taken this advice to heart as a young man. Not because I would be a financial success had I done so, but  I think my writing would be stronger. And so many of my characters and stories would not have withered away due to neglect.

If there were writing police I would certainly be a criminal due to the many times I have had an idea that I have thought to death. I have locked characters away in my mind, denying them the nourishment of alien eyes.

I have strangled plots by way of world building.

I have bludgeoned narratives with adjectives because my fingers are too numb to grasp action.

My descriptions are gardens so thick with flowers you cannot take a stroll.

Or at least they once were. I have been practicing with the pruning sheers and I am starting to get a feel for it.

One leaf at a time.

Jimmie G.

Powerful Suggestion

What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?

What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?

What’s the one piece of advice you wish someone had given you a year (or five, or ten…) ago?

 

One thought on “Story Killer”

Collaborate. Please.

